Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Breaking News! .... Sort of!

After doing a certain section of my research paper that involved Erwin Rommel, I got curious and read more about him. There's so much I could go on about telling how awesome he is. So basically, thanks to this research paper, Erwin Rommel is my new hero. It's too bad we couldn't have had him on our side in WWII, not only was he a great man, but a great leader.

I also saw a Rommel shirt that I want to get. On it in German is says something like how the lives of his men are worth more to him than the world of a lunatic [Hitler].

FDR's Four Freedoms

A very fine speech, indeed. The link provided through the class blog also included audio player of it. I didn't listen to all of it since it was very long and I could read it faster to myself, he did a good job delivering it.

As for the thesis of his speech, he started out explaining how the US has never really been at much risk since its founding, but the Nazis and Japanese showed a real threat and we must come out of isolationism to protect ourselves. As he goes on, he explains that by coming out of isolationism, we'll protect ourselves and also get a boost in the economy, which was needed greatly before WWII. Lastly, when he was telling what the Four Freedoms were, we should enter the war to protect ourselves, boost the economy, and also protect the freedoms of speech and religion and freedom from want and fear, not only for ourselves, but for our allies.

His thesis did evolve as the speech went on, adding to it and making it stronger with each part of the speech.

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

What I do with the little break times I take between studying and finishing the research paper...

My brother got Dragon Age: Origins and we've both been playing. It's good that he got it as a late birthday present instead of me because that means I have to let him play and can't just hog the PS3. With having to share, I procrastinate a bit less and get more work done. Here's the awesomely epic CGI trailer for the game.

Friday, December 11, 2009

It's a little lonely here now

Wolfgang (aka: Wolfy), my old German shepard passed away on Wednesday. It's been quiet since then and only been adding to the stress of having finals and a research paper to finish. I don't know what else to say and I should probably get back to working on my paper.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Things to do...

4 freedoms QW

See if I did the QW with white rose/other readings

finish Lunn's

Find out what ch 4 analysis is and see if I have it DONE

research paper

video to go with it if I have time (found a good song for it!)

Print out San Pietro writing for Lunn



This is more of my way to see what I need to finish than a blog post.

Sunday, December 6, 2009

Schindler's List

Okay, now I finally got around to doing it before I got distracted by something else. So I watched the movie and it was really good. The one part of our reading that came to mind the most during the movie was when Schindler was up on the hill watching the liquidation of the ghetto. The book said Schindler was most likely never up on that hill during that event. The reasoning was: if the SS are rounding up a lot of people as well as killing them, wouldn't they have a perimeter around the area to catch any possible escapes, therefore making it hard to Schindler to just ride past the security on a horse with a woman? Also, it said Schindler would most likely be in his apartment during the time because he kept getting in trouble with the SS or Gestapo and it wouldn't really be safe for him to go out.

Some parts of the reading I didn't really get, like ones that mentioned specific characters besides Schindler and Amon Goth because I never really caught a lot of their names in the movie so I couldn't tell if they were true or not. Also, I was reading Aaron's analysis and he had a good point too. He was a businessman first and a savior to them second. But then I think near the end was when he did lean a bit to the other way because he was using all of his money to keep his Jews safe and all the ammunition his factory made was faulty. I think that was his way of rebelling against the war since he didn't want what he made to be able to kill others.

Saturday, December 5, 2009

Because I have nothing better to write at this moment...

Need to do scene analysis, but that will take time, so doing it late at night isn't the best idea if I want to make it good. Instead I decided to share a story (more like brag, actually) about a round on MW2 that I had that was awesome... For those who know what I'm talking about, we were playing domination on high rise and I was sniping at A. I got enough kills for a chopper gunner then a few more after it was gone.

When I ran out of ammo I killed a guy trying to take A with my trusty silenced USP + tactical knife and replaced my empty rifle with his LMG. Don't know what type it was since I rarely use them since I prefer assault rifles, mainly the ACR, because they're more accurate. So I then run around the map just mowing people down from the sides and behind until I run out of THAT ammo (and there was a lot of ammo in that gun when I got it). From there I trade it for a MP5K. Not my favorite SMG since I feel like it has too much recoil at times (if you haven't realized yet, I love accuracy and hate recoil).

Anyway, get a many 2 or 3 kills with that then run out of ammo (it was low when I got it). So up to this point I have fought my way from A, around B, was near the building for C for a few seconds, and fought my way back to A. When I get to A I'm out of MP5K ammo and my USP is out of ammo too, so I trade it for an M4, get maybe one kill with it then someone finally gets me from behind and the game ends a few seconds after! I was doing so well to only be taken out at the last moment of the game.

The end result was 35 kills, 1 death. By far, that was my best kill to death ratio in a game ever. I could have used the nuke and I have it unlocked, but I decided not to use it because it'd be a waste of a slot because it's not very often I do that well. The following games after that were 38/2 and 54/12. Today was a very good day for me. Usually my max is 20 kills and maybe 5 to 10 deaths. Either I'm lucky, I was up against noobs, my clan works extremely well as a team (which it does), or I've just gotten extremely good after not playing the game for almost a week (I was playing Assassin's Creed II and beat it, awesome game).

Let's hope this continues tomorrow...

And I'm trying one of those knife classes! The ones where people run around only using tactical knife and throwing knifes with marathon, lightweight, and commando. So far I had one good game with that (5 kill streak) and all others weren't that great. Perhaps I'll stick to my assault class (ACR and M1014) and sniper (WA2000 with thermal scope and heartbeat sensor). My stealth class has barely been touched since I got the ACR and M1014.